Palpitation

For a fraction of a millisecond, I see it.

There beyond the bluffs and the sea, the long dive below.

I see my mortality eternal, etched in layered hues of blue and gray.

I see how the best counterpart of my spirit is also its worst, its most nightmarish twin soldier.

How love can be too much to cling to and account for, how it is nearly unbearable to fathom when I stop long enough to think on it.

How in that seemingly negligible fraction of a second, it seems entirely possible and tangible, this terrifying reality of existence.

How I might know this reality through lapsed dreams in the dark, where my consciousness is veiled under cushioned placeholders.

The night grows dreary, cold, distant.

I want to leap headlong into that dark bluff, and I want to frame you for it.

Leave a comment